IND Wins T20 Series 4-1 with a Six-run Victory over AUS


India defeated Australia by six runs in the fifth and final Twenty20 International in Bengaluru thanks to outstanding bowling and resilient batting from Shreyas Iyer. India scored 160/8 in 20 overs after being asked to bat first, while Australia could only muster 154/8 in response.

Iyer hit 53 off 37 balls during the middle overs with some help from Jitesh Sharma and Axar Patel. Jitesh scored 24 off of 16 balls, and Axar scored 31 in 21 deliveries.

Australia lost both of its openers, Josh Phillipe and Travis Head, in the powerplay overs, so Mukesh Kumar and Ravi Bishnoi entered the game early. Mukesh removed Phillipe for a run-a-ball four, and Bishnoi cleaned up Head for 28(18). Australia is chasing 161 after finishing powerplay with 50/2. Aaron Hardie was then removed by Bishnoi for 6(10) in his next over.

Tim David and Ben McDermott scored 47 runs for the fourth wicket before Axar broke the stand. David was removed for the 17-run run-a-ball. On the other hand, McDermott reached his fifty-score before Arshdeep Singh removed him for 54(36). Mukesh Kumar then removed Ben Dwarshuis (0) and Matthew Short (16 off 11) in consecutive deliveries.

Arshdeep Singh dismissed Matthew Wade for 22(15) in the final over, despite Wade having kept Australia in the hunt.

India had been off to a rapid start before Australia spoiled the fun by removing openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad during powerplay overs. Ben Dwarshuis forced Gaikwad to fall for 10(12), and Jason Behrendorff removed Jaiswal for 21(15). Dwarshuis removed Suryakumar Yadav in the next over, packing the Indian captain for five (7).

Australia advanced further when Tanveer Sangha dismissed Rinku Singh for 6 (8) to reduce India to 55/4 in 9.1 overs. One change has been made to the starting lineups for both teams. Chris Green’s place in the starting lineup was taken by Nathan Ellis. Deepak Chahar was forced to return home due to a medical emergency; Arshdeep Singh has taken his place.


Read More: Click Here