PM Modi Declares Four Astronauts of Gaganyaan Mission

Credit : talentias

Group Captains Prasanth Balakrishnan Nair, Ajit Krishnan, and Angad Pratap, alongside Wing Commander Shubhanshu Shukla, have been selected to represent India in its maiden crewed space mission, Gaganyaan.

Credit : wirallybuzz

Prime Minister Narendra Modi unveiled the names of the four astronauts during his visit to the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, conferring them with "astronaut wings" and expressing profound pride in their selection.

Credit : wirallybuzz

Modi hailed the astronauts as the epitome of India's hopes and aspirations, representing 1.40 billion people as they gear up for this historic journey.

Credit : updates_guruu

The Gaganyaan project, India's first human spaceflight program, is underway at various ISRO facilities, with the aim of sending a three-member crew into a 400 km orbit for a three-day mission, returning safely to Earth with a landing in the Indian Ocean.

Credit : thehitavada

The success of the Gaganyaan mission hinges on the development of critical technologies, including a human-rated launch vehicle, life support systems, crew emergency protocols, and comprehensive training for the astronauts.

Scheduled for a launch in late 2025, the Gaganyaan mission marks a significant milestone in India's space exploration journey, showcasing the nation's prowess in human spaceflight.

During his visit, PM Modi inaugurated three key technical facilities, including the PSLV Integration Facility, Semi-cryogenics Integrated Engine and Stage Test Facility, and the Trisonic Wind Tunnel, collectively developed at a cost of approximately Rs 1,800 crore, underscoring India's commitment to advancing its space capabilities and inspiring its youth towards scientific pursuits.

Credit : isro